Miss Pelican's Perch

Looking at my World from a Different Place

My Barbaric Yawp

4 Comments

“Yawp” is one of those old words that does not come up in everyday conversation.   It means “to cry out” in a loud voice, and  is akin to the more modern word “yelp.”   Walt Whitman used the word in his poem Song of Myself:

“I too am not a bit tamed—I too am untranslatable;
I sound my barbaric yawp over the roofs of the world.”  (Verse 52)

Sometimes we all need to act a little untamed so that our true selves can burst forth with a mighty “yawp!”  When we break through creativity happens.

This “crying out” is illustrated in my favorite scene in one of my favorite movies

Save

4 thoughts on “My Barbaric Yawp

  1. For a creative writing class we had to write our own Barbaric Yawps. It was so much fun.

  2. Love that movie. I need to watch it again.

  3. One of my favorite movie scenes, too. And i still miss Mr. Williams.

  4. Thank you for introducing me to a new old word.

Leave a comment