Miss Pelican's Perch

Looking at my World from a Different Place

Daily Writing Practice

Leave a comment

My daily writing practice is to read first thing in the morning. For example, this morning I started the book The Chosen by Chaim Potok. This is the selection for a book group to which I belong. I will also read a couple of poems selected from an anthology and one from the poet I am currently studying (right now, that is Gary Snyder).

Then later today when I have a few minutes, I will write a minimum of three sentences of prose or a short poem in my journal. At the end of the month, I will either have 90 sentences or 30 poems. That’s the goal at least. Sometimes I fall off the daily practice writing for quite a while. That’s okay, though. Eventually, I get back on the wagon.

Now if I can only do a daily art-making practice like this too.

ljg 2023

Leave a comment