Miss Pelican's Perch

Looking at my World from a Different Place

Guess Who Came to Dinner?

5 Comments

One of my online writing buddies, Suzanne, pointed me to this prompt at The Daily Post: If one of your late ancestors were to come back from the dead and join you for dinner, what things about your family would this person find the most shocking?


My aunt recently passed away. She was our family’s genealogist for nearly fifty years. Her daughter recently found a document among her research notes that lists thirteen ancestors that served in the Continental Army during the American Revolution.

Participating in a revolution would have been dangerous enough, but the possibility of being captured and hung for treason or, if the patriots had not prevailed, most likely having their properties confiscated would have been very real.   These men and their families felt so connected to their cause that they risked everything, everything, for it.

I can imagine any one of these men coming to dinner and looking at me from across the table with great disappointment and dismay.   I hear him saying “What is your passion, your cause?   What are you doing about it?”

I can feel myself blushing in shame as I sit there on my bourgeois butt, sipping a latte and fingering my latest Steve Jobs device.   The blood of rebels runs through my veins.   Rabble-rousing radicalism should be oozing from my pores.   Yet I seemed to have fallen into a miasma of indifference.

No, I will not be planning a revolution so you guys in the suits with the ear inplants can just stand down.   However, I do need to do an inventory of my belief system and begin excising that part of me which tolerates the status quo. I need to grow a backbone and accept the risks, as my ancestors did, of losing my perch in my self-prescribed comfort zone for a great cause.

I need to find my passion. Then I can honorably sit in the company of my forefathers at the dinner table and say, “Please pass the potatoes.”

ljgloyd (c) 2014

5 thoughts on “Guess Who Came to Dinner?

  1. I love this post Lori. What a great take on the challenge. The way you have turned it on it’s head so that your ancestors are the ones that are shocked is really clever. Good luck with finding your passion. One question though (from an Aussie with a hazy notion of American history) – what is the Continental Army?

  2. This is fabulous Lori! I really enjoyed it! I am running my latest course here in Castlemaine, taking people to acquire fire sticks to ignite their passion. I am in need of one myself but at least the flame is still burning.

  3. “What is your passion, your cause? What are you doing about it?” As questions asked by an ancestor or other historical figure, this would be a great prompt!

Leave a Reply

