Miss Pelican's Perch

Looking at my World from a Different Place

Omelettes, Et Cetera

8 Comments

It is my opinion that if you master just these five recipes, you can properly entertain others and  feed yourself without becoming bored with your own cooking.

Omelettes.  Learn how to make a proper plain omelette, and you can make a number of main dishes just by varying the “innards”– cheese, vegetables, meats, anything.  Also, by understanding the omelette, you can dumb it down to simple scrambled eggs or fancy it up to a frittata.

Roast chicken.  If you can properly roast a chicken, you can apply the same knowledge to turkey or duck.  Thanksgiving dinner won’t be the scary thing it has become to some if you can master a chicken.

Boeuf Bourguignon.  Learning to braise a meat in a liquid will set you up to make all kinds of stews and chilies.

Marinara Sauce.  Master this and you have mastered all manner of pizza and pasta dishes.

Apple Pie.  A tender, flaky pastry can be parlayed into many sweet and savory goodies:  summer fruit tarts, pumpkin or sweet potato pie, chicken pot pies, and meat-filled pasties and turnovers.

You don’t need to learn a huge repertoire of dishes.  Just take the time to master a few.

 

ljg

8 thoughts on “Omelettes, Et Cetera

  1. So true about only needing a few things in your arsenal. Now I want roast chicken

  2. easy to say but the learning part takes work, I honestly suck at following instructions especially cooking instructions but I like omelets (you know there is two ways to spell omelets, omelettes?) so maybe if that is the only thing I can cook, it wouldn’t be so bad.

    have a lovely day.

  3. YUM!!

    *\|/**\|/**\|/* Mary Beth *\|/**\|/**\|/*

  4. Mastering the basics makes the rest of life easier, especially when everyone is yelling “what’s for dinner?”

  5. Oh my goodness! Boeuf bourguignon!! YUM!!

    Apple pie is super hard to master from what I can tell. My husband’s the chef in our household. He’s only made it successfully once. You have to have the right apples and get the crust just so… But, of course, if you succeed it is super delicious!! Have you ever put cheddar cheese on it? I think I looked at my husband like he was crazy when he suggested I try it. lol. Now I can’t imagine apple pie without a slice of cheese! (And ice cream, of course!)

    You’ve listed some great recipes that will certainly help a person develop their cooking skills and entertain guests. I really don’t think you can go wrong with any of these!

    With Love,
    Mandy

  6. Now I’m hungry!! 🙂

Leave a comment