Miss Pelican's Perch

Looking at my World from a Different Place

At the Wishing Well

1 Comment

coinsToday’s Prompt:  “Three Coins in the Fountain:  Have you ever tossed a coin or two into a fountain and made a wish? Did it come true?”

I think I may have tossed a coin or two in a fountain at one point because I have this vague recollection of someone — probably my mom — scolding me about throwing hard-earned money away.  And if that did happen, I would say she was spot-on right to tell me that.

No offense to anyone,  but how can anyone be so gullible as to think if you tossed some money in a fountain, you were going to get something in return.  Some may think it is the “positive affirmation” through the “intentional act” that manifests one’s desires.  The universe does not work that way.   The fact is the owner of the well or fountain is the only one getting anything from this.

I remember walking by a wishing-well one day and thinking that if all those coins I could see at the bottom were scooped up and totaled they would make a generous donation to some worthy cause.   If you are going to give away money, give it to someone who needs it.

The idea, I suppose, is a vestige of a prehistoric ritual to placate some pagan entity.  Even some non-pagans do this still today.  I have heard it preached that if you tithe to your faith community, you will be rewarded many times over.  Some tithers give only for this reason.   I believe that we should give to a worthy endeavor because it is the right thing to do, not for what we get out of it.

Maybe we have the idea turned around.  Maybe the reality is that we are given our wealth so that we have the means to give it away to those who need it.

We don’t give in order to get.  We get in order to give.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/three-coins-in-the-fountain/

ljg (c) 2015

One thought on “At the Wishing Well

  1. I’d agree. The more you give, the more you get. The Universe does work like that…I’m an advocate of the law of attraction. I’ve seen it work in my own life, therefore am a believer. I do believe, however, that a large pinch of common sense needs to be present in the formula. If you throw money away, it’s likely you won’t get anything out of it except being poorer; BUT to give it to worthy causes and the truly needy is admirable. HOWEVER, that leaves out whimsy and I’m perhaps a bigger fan of mystic whimsy than anything else…have tossed a penny or fifteen into fountains if I see ’em. A penny ain’t so much.

Leave a Reply

