Miss Pelican's Perch

Looking at my World from a Different Place

LOTR: A Literary Masterpiece

2 Comments

It is my opinion that the greatest piece of writing in all of English literature, outside of the King James Bible, is J. R. R. Tolkien’s The Lord of the Rings trilogy.  Yes, I believe the three books of this series are even more finely crafted than any of the works by William Shakespeare.

That being said, I was going to give you a brief summary and my analysis, but if I had done so, it was have been a total snoozer and a complete waste of your time.  Instead, I offer my favorite documentary on the topic, one of the video appendices from the movie version’s DVD.    The first 23 minutes explores the creative genius of Tolkien and the crafting of his mythology.  It is a fascinating look at the making of a masterpiece.

 

2 thoughts on “LOTR: A Literary Masterpiece

  1. I was introduced to Tolkien by my husband. They are a brilliant read.

  2. The language of LotR is splendid, and the characters and events are gripping. Aside from the sad dearth of effective female characters (there are a couple on the sidelines, but that’s all), I love it completely!

Leave a comment