Miss Pelican's Perch

Looking at my World from a Different Place

Yoga and Green Tea

4 Comments

I am establishing some new morning habits.

For a couple of years, my old habit was to wake-up to inane talk radio and listen to it for a whole hour while lounging in bed.  I would then drag myself out of bed and get dressed, then watch a half hour of depressing and oh-so-repetitive cable news while I ate breakfast. When I left for work, I was already tired and spent. It was no wonder that my right knee felt like a knife was slicing through it. It was as if all that negative energy was settling into the structure and mechanism of my knee.

At the end of March I got a wake up call that I needed to be doing more cardio exercise to improve my health. But how would I do that with a bum knee? Past experiences with western medical practitioners made me skeptical to ask them for help. I did not want to take painkillers or other drugs and physical therapy never proved helpful in previous situations.

So I got off my butt (literally) and engaged the services of a Traditional Chinese Medical practitioner. I just finished 17 weeks of acupuncture treatment, including herbs and nutritional counseling. The results: Four months ago I could not walk two city blocks or climb a flight of stairs without stabbing pain in my knee. Yesterday, I walked and actually jogged TWO miles with no knee pain whatsoever. (Okay, I just jogged on the flat parts of my very hilly town– but still!)

My new morning habit is to wake up at 4:45, make a cup of green tea, leave it to cool, take my walk, come home and do some yoga and meditation, and then re-hydrate by drinking the tea– all before 6 am. This leaves me time to clean up and dress, pack my lunch, eat my breakfast, maybe read a little, and still get to work 7:30.

Do you see what’s missing? NO media. No news about stupid, inept and embarrassing politicians, acts of violence, the destruction of our environment, social unrest, injustice, et cetera.     None.   Nada.   Zip.

Those issues are important and are not forgotten.  I just deal with them later in the day.   My goal is start my day in peace and harmony.

Now the trick is to keep these habits engaged until they become a fully complete life-style.  There’s no going back at this point.

I’d better get myself some more tea.

 

ljgloyd (c) 2017

Tea

4 thoughts on “Yoga and Green Tea

  1. I like what you are doing. May be I should get up in the morning and walk also. I pray and meditate when I wake up in the wee hours of the morning. I should get up and walk too but just feel too lazy to do so!

    *\|/**\|/**\|/* Mary Beth *\|/**\|/**\|/*

  2. I have adapted a healthy lifestyle and try my best to stick to it everyday. Although I do not wake up at 4:45 am (kudos to you) , but still I make it a point to leave bed as early as I can. Green tea too is an integral part of my life since last 2 years.

    I brought all these changes after suffering from illnesses one after another. It makes me regret sometimes why I didn’t welcome healthy living much earlier in my life. That could have saved me a lot of pain and trouble.

    • Thank you. After I posted this I had a bout of “is all this effort worth ii?” since progress has been slow and incremental. Your words are an encouragement.

Leave a Reply

