Miss Pelican's Perch

Looking at my World from a Different Place

Tapering Off or Cold Turkey?

3 Comments

I stopped eating wheat about two months ago. I did not taper off. I just went cold turkey.

It was not easy. Everything I eat I wish were a toasted bagel slathered with cream cheese. Every time I drive past my favorite burger joint on Main Street with their big, soft sesame seed grilled buns, I begin muttering to myself the mantra: “Don’t stop, don’t stop, keep driving, you can have a nice bowl of brown rice when you get home.”

Modern wheat has been likened to heroin. Seriously. The wheat that is grown now is not the same wheat consumed for thousands of years.  It has been genetically modified to create a larger crop yield. Unfortunately, this genetic manipulation has increased in wheat a substance called gliatin which is an appetite stimulant. The more wheat you eat, the more hungry you get.   And it is a substance addiction that is hard to break.  Here is an easy-to-read article about this here.

Since I’ve stopped eating wheat, I have better digestion and more importantly, my joints do not hurt anymore (apparently wheat consumption causes inflammation in some people– me included). I did not realize how much my body hurt until I stopped eating wheat and the inflammation calmed down.

Now, for my other “addiction.” Caffeine.

Twenty years ago I did not drink coffee. Then when the “green mermaid” coffee houses started opening up, I began to frequent them for ice blended mochas and other sweet drinks. Then I graduated to the stronger stuff. Now I get a vente dark roast drip almost every morning. If I don’t have my morning coffee, I will have a screaming, skull-smashing, debilitating headache by late morning that no pain reliever will conquer.

Cold turkey, therefore, is not an option. I will need to slowly taper off if I am to survive this very real withdrawal symptom.

I am starting this morning. I will get a half-decaf, half-fully leaded vente. I have to start somewhere.

Is there a coffee equivalent of the DTs? Gosh, I hope not.

Post-Script:  I really did go down to our building’s canteen right after I posted this to get some coffee, and I noticed that they are now selling “bagel buzzes”, which are bagels made with 32 ounces of added caffeine.  I’m not making this up!   Now one does not have to “pick their poison”;  they come together in one easy to manage package.

Oh, and by the way, nothing here should be construed as medical advice.  This nutritional advice was given to me by a medical practitioner and works for me.  You need to go see your own practitioner before you try this.

 

ljg 2017

Taper at The Daily Post

3 thoughts on “Tapering Off or Cold Turkey?

  1. Way to go…. I had no idea about the wheat… I knew it was bad and I have a hard time not eating it… but I didn’t know about the ‘hungry’ factor. It makes a lot of sense… since the more I eat, the hungrier I am and the crappier I feel. Thank you for posting.
    Good luck with the caffeine! You can do it.

  2. Thanks for sharing. I will watch my WHEAT and not my MEAT consumption!

    *\|/**\|/**\|/* Mary Beth *\|/**\|/**\|/*

Leave a Reply

