Miss Pelican's Perch

Looking at my World from a Different Place

Farmers’ Market Creativity

2 Comments

I have been trying to eat in a healthy manner these days so I visited my local farmers’ market yesterday to get some ideas and ingredients for dishes that are fresh, organic, local and seasonal. I came away with a bag of produce that filled the bill, including several bunches of fresh herbs: basil, parsley, cilantro and mint. Mint was an interesting choice for me since I don’t often cook with it, but something about it said “Make something with me!”

When I got home, I started googling recipes and I ended up with selecting an Indian mint-cilantro chutney. Now I just needed something to put the chutney ON. Such a sauce is often served with samosas and pakoras, yet these Indian appetizers are usually deep fried. Also, I wanted to use cheap and handy ingredients. So the Creative Muse jumped into the situation and I ended up improvising my own oven-baked version of a potato pakora.  Using ingredients on hand, a creative moment ended up with a yummy and healthy result.

Mint-Cilantro Chutney

2 cups fresh cilantro leaves
1 cup fresh mint leaves
1 inch of peeled fresh ginger
1 clove of peeled fresh garlic
Juice of 1 lime
1/2 teaspoon cumin powder
salt

Put everything in a food processor or blender with a little water (about 1/4 cup) and grind into a paste.

Miss Pelican’s Improvised Oven-Baked Potato Pakoras

2 cups of chickpea flour
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
1/2 teaspoon onion powder
1 heaping tablespoon curry powder
Pinch of cayenne pepper powder
Pinch of salt
About 3 cups (or half of 2 pound bag) of frozen hash browns, defrosted
1 cup water

Preheat the oven to 450F. Mix the flour, powders, pepper and salt in a large bowl. Add the defrosted potatoes and water. Mix until the potatoes are thoroughly coated with batter.  Line cookie sheets with parchment paper. Drop spoonfuls of the potato batter on the lined cookie sheets, like you were making cookies. Bake for 10 minutes, remove from oven, flip each “cookie”, return to the oven and back another 10 minutes. Remove and cool. The pakoras should be a little crispy on the outside and chewy on the inside. Serve with the
chutney.

ljgloyd

2 thoughts on “Farmers’ Market Creativity

  1. Now i’m hungry, and i’m sorry i don’t have all the ingredients on hand!

Leave a Reply

