Miss Pelican's Perch

Looking at my World from a Different Place

Vintage

4 Comments

I came across a definition for the word “vintage” that appeals to me.  It went something like this:  vintage is anything that is too old to be modern and to new to be antique.

That’s how I feel sometimes.  I don’t think I am old yet, but I am sure as heck not young.   At one point a few years ago, I was a little ambivalent on the whole aging thing.  So on a significant birthday, I signed up for belly dance courses just to feel young again.  No, it didn’t really work.      Then, ten years later on another milestone birthday I decided to embrace my inner crone and let my dyed hair grow out silver.  I got a lot of grief for that, especially from a lot of other women with dyed hair.

But “vintage”…. that’s the ticket:  classy, useful, elegant, good lines and form (well, maybe for cars– but still..)

Yes, I will call myself “vintage”  because I am still young enough to experience life but old enough to know how to handle it.

4 thoughts on “Vintage

  1. Vintage works. I call myself that

  2. Interesting thoughts on vintage. I find myself enjoying vintage things more and more as I get older.

  3. I’m going to adopt this adjective for myself as well. Thanks!

  4. Vintage is where i would be, too. As for the gray or silver hair, i let mine grow and if someone wants to fuss it’s their problem. My hair, i will keep it my way, thankyouverymuch.

Leave a Reply

