Miss Pelican's Perch

Looking at my World from a Different Place

On a Date with a Bunch of Poets

1 Comment

About twenty years ago, Bill Moyers had a series on PBS called Language of Life.  The series showcased poets from a wide and diverse range of backgrounds.  When I first viewed this series so many years ago, I discovered that poetry was meant to be heard — and even watched– not merely read.   I was able to find this series recently on DVD.  My artist’s date this week was to binge-watch this series again while home recovering from a bad cold.  Unfortunately, there are not many clips on YouTube from this series.  Fortunately, though, one clip I did find is of the late poet Sekou Sundiata performing his lyrical and powerful poem “Blink Your Eyes”.    I want to share this poem with you.  Hopefully you can hear what I hear and enjoy it:

One thought on “On a Date with a Bunch of Poets

  1. Wow. The words are old, but the message is still very relavent.
    Thanks for sharing.

    – Lisa

Leave a Reply

