Miss Pelican's Perch

Looking at my World from a Different Place

Everyone is a Musical Being

Leave a comment

imageUntil recently, I have never thought of myself as a musical person.  Music was never part of my growing-up experience except to listen to 93 KHJ’s Boss Radio on a tinny transistor.   I never had instrument, voice, or dance lessons.  I was always a little envious of my friends who had this, though, at the time, my friends would have thought I was the lucky one.

I joined a congregation as an adult and I discovered that it was okay to sing.   Then one day, when I was about to have a significant birthday, I signed up for a belly dance exercise class and discovered that dancing was okay too.   It was in that dance class that I really discovered rhythm and melody.  It started out with finger cymbals, then I got my first Arabic drum, then an African drum, then two frame drums. I started playing the drum at informal worship meetings.  Then I started attending a community drum circle.  And just last week, I acquired a strum stick, a type of stick dulcimer. I am teaching myself to play it.

I feel like some flood gate has opened and water is irrigating my soul.

I have learned that everyone, by virtue of being human and having a heartbeat and vocal cords, is a musical person.  We are instruments through which God makes music.

Here is what a music therapist has to say about this:

(My apologies for the advertisement on this video….)

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/heard/

Save

Leave a Reply

