Miss Pelican's Perch

Looking at my World from a Different Place

When The Going Gets Tough, the Tough Make Pastry

Leave a comment

Today’s word from the Daily Post is “Overwhelming”.    The fact that they picked this word tells me that the feeling of being overwhelmed is being experienced by a good many folks these days.

As for me, I am scared snotless over the state of our country and our world.  Is WW3 going to start because some narcissistic orange cheese puff has the nuclear codes?  This week I have been at the point where I just want to go sit on a beach somewhere and sip margaritas till I can’t remember my name,  let alone the state of the world.

But that would be too irresponsible, not to mention destructive.

So what do I do when I am feeling overwhelmed?

I cook.

When it is really a bad, scary week, I bake.

This week I give you the “Apple Tart”

tart

A basic crust recipe is HERE.   Flatten the dough into a tart pan. Then peel and core three or four apples, slice them, and toss them with some flour, sugar, cinnamon and lemon juice.  (I find measuring a little stressful so I just eyeball it.)  Spread them over the dough.  You can get all fancy and fan the apple slices into a lovely swirl.  I’m all into just dumping them out and being done with it.   Then dot the top with some more butter and bake the whole thing in a preheated 400f oven until the dough is brown and the apples are tender.  You can give it some gloss by brushing some simple syrup over the apples when you take it out.   Let the tart cool a bit because if you don’t and dig into it right out of the oven, it’s like eating napalm.  (How do you know I haven’t eaten napalm?)

One of my favorite movie scenes perfectly explains the connection with cooking and feelings of apocalyptic doom.

Enjoy your day…..

ljg (c) 2017

Save

Save

Save

Leave a Reply

