Miss Pelican's Perch

Looking at my World from a Different Place

Tangential Resolutions

2 Comments

image
So this is the expected, somewhat obligatory, New Year’s Day resolution post.

First let me provide some historical context regarding my process of making resolutions:

Over the years, I have made resolutions only to discard them shortly– if not immediately–after I made them. In other years, I declared that I wouldn’t make New Year’s resolutions because I have such a dismal track record in keeping them. And once I even made a declaration that I would not be bound to making resolutions just on New Year’s Day but rather to make resolutions throughout the year.

None of these strategies were quite satisfactory because I kept forgetting this important fact: Life is unpredictable and is always throwing up detour signs along my way. Sometimes the universe will say “Aha, you want to go that way but I want you to go to that way.”

Sometimes those derailments are painful. This year I had a family crisis that consumed so much of my time and emotional energy that I did not get to all of the activities that I had planned.   In fact they seemed stupid and shallow.  Contrarily, some derailments have been pleasant.  I had resolved to buy a new camera and spend more time engaged in photography.  I never got around to it because of the aforementioned crisis.   Instead, Providence recently dropped a drum in my lap and I have been exploring and enjoying this mode of expression much to my benefit.

Therefore, since life loves to throw wrenches into my plans, I have decided that this year I will incorporate broader boundaries to allow for the tangents my resolutions will inevitably follow.

So here it is:   I resolve for 2017:

  • I will express my creativity on a regular basis in a variety of media and genres.
  • I will practice a healthy lifestyle.
  • I will engage in activities that make my home a comfortable and organized place to live.
  • I will engage in daily spiritual practices to benefit my mental health and fortify my soul.
  • I will strive to mitigate the effects of toxic people and develop healthier relationships.
  • I will participate in activities that benefit others.

I will let you know at the end of the year how this all worked out.

Happy New Year.

ljgloyd (c) 2017

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/year/

2 thoughts on “Tangential Resolutions

  1. I concur totally! Last year I promised to be a good friend to myself and at times that proved more challenging than I anticipated. This year I am simply not going to pretend to be anyone other than myself and I will mother the wounded part of me that keeps throwing up roadblocks! May 2017 be wonderful for you!

Leave a Reply

