Miss Pelican's Perch

Looking at my World from a Different Place

Regarding Hope

Leave a comment

Pandora letting Hope fly free.

The WordPress Daily Post wants to know what we think about the idea of “hopefulness”.   I guess they put this prompt up because it is the last day of a truly awful, horrible year.

But here is the thing to consider:  Calendars and yearly numeric designations are artificial constructs and should not have any influence on the application of hope in our lives.  I will have no more or no less hope tomorrow as I do today or as I did in 1982.   Our understanding of time should have no bearing at all on hope.  Hope is timeless and eternal.

Furthermore, the application of hope has everything to do with circumstances.   For example:

Am I hopeful that our vicious, strident political climate will improve in 2017?   No.

Am I hopeful that our world will become a less violent place next year?  No.  In fact, it may become worse.

Am I hopeful that the Lakers will rise up from being designated the worst basketball franchise ever?  Absolutely no — that would take a true miracle.

However, there are some things wherein I do have hope:

Will I become a better, stronger, kinder, more functional person?   There is a glimmer of hope there.

Will my friends and family enjoy health and prosperity next year?  I always hope for that.

Is there a Power greater than us moving through our lives in this dark and bitter world to make them better?    Of that I have absolute hope.

Based on this last point, I wish you:

A Happy New Year and May You All Be Blessed

ljgloyd (c) 2016

Image:  Pandora releasing Hope into the world.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/hopeful/

Leave a Reply

