Miss Pelican's Perch

Looking at my World from a Different Place

Pick Your Metaphor

1 Comment

Preparing the soil, planting the seeds, or priming the pump….  I don’t know which metaphor to use.

I have been a bit busy this last week with a lot of life chores and I haven’t had time to write.  Well, truth be told, I haven’t felt like it.   I just didn’t have any words to say.  (Now, be nice, people. 🙂 )

One chore that has engaged me this week is setting up a new computer.  My 12-year-old piece o’junk was gasping its final breath when I finally relented (I am very cheap) and got a new one.   Now I am installing applications, moving files, in general taking a walk down a digital memory lane in the process.  I realized that I haven’t made any digital constructions for ages and my hope against hope is that Photoshop and Illustrator will install and properly work so I can get working again.  (Windows 10 doesn’t work and play well with older applications.)   I may even try to install Terragen.

All this digging around in the soil of my creative garden has got me excited again to get back to creating visual pieces.   I would suggest to any Creative to revisit older work or media to prepare the soil or prime the pump for new work.

For newer subscribers, here are some examples of my visual work:

Sleeping Dryad“Sleeping Dryad”

fire sprite 72“Fire Sprite”

Wellness mandala small “Wellness”

"Swirl Shield" CGI in Illustrator and Photoshop using free-use and public domain clip art“Celtic Shield”

Tree woman“Tree Woman”

LJGloyd (c) 2016.

Inspired by the Letter P at the Soul Food Cafe

Save

One thought on “Pick Your Metaphor

  1. Glad you are writing again. I have been so occupied and busy with everything that kept me even from church. God bless.

    *\|/**\|/**\|/* Mary Beth *\|/**\|/**\|/*

Leave a Reply

