Miss Pelican's Perch

Looking at my World from a Different Place

NaPoWriMo #18: “Cavin’ “

Leave a comment

imageToday’s prompt is  “…to write a poem that incorporates ‘the sound of home.’ Think back to your childhood, and the figures of speech and particular ways of talking that the people around you used, and which you may not hear anymore.”  This was easy to write because my family has a strange way with words.

Cavin’

“Quit your cavin’ around!”
My mom used to holler that at me.
So did my dad.
So did my grandpa.
It was adult-speak for
“Sit down, shut up, and stop acting like a kid.”

How weird.

Cavin’.
I never understood how that
could mean what it meant.
In the coming
of the age of Google
I still couldn’t find out how it
could mean what it meant.

How odd.

Cavin’
One day my cousin and I
were sharing memories,
as older folks are apt to do,
and she solved the mystery
for me:

Cavin’:  Acting like a caveman.
Huh.
My family invented
a new verb all its own.
Word-smithing seems
to run in the family.

Cavin’

How bizarre.

Ljgloyd (c). 2016

Leave a Reply

