Miss Pelican's Perch

Looking at my World from a Different Place

NaNoWriMo #12: Night Journey

7 Comments

dream womanAdmittedly, I am not at all satisfied with today’s poem.  NaPoWriMo ‘s prompt is to create a “found poem” by lifting an excerpt from a book’s index, page numbers and all, and call it a poem.  I am not entirely against found poetry.  The book spine exercise I did a couple of days ago is a form of found poetry.  But at least I wove it together with words of my own to create a somewhat reasonable narrative.  But this index thing?   No.  This is not poetry in my opinion.  It’s not even writing.  But being the good sport that I am, I grabbed a couple of books off my shelf to see if I could use anything from their indices or tables of content as inspiration.  The books I am using are: Water from an Ancient Well: Celtic Spirituality for Modern Life and The Heroine’s Journey.  I mostly used the chapter titles of these books.  In addition, to challenge myself, I am using the word from The Daily Post’s prompt-of-the-day to provide the overarching theme.

Here’s what I got:

Night Journey

She falls beneath the waves of sleep
to the realm of dreams and visions
to travel a road of trials
in quest of her father and mother,
and to slay the ogre tyrants
that plague her during the day.

Creatures of grace arise from the deep
to guide her to circles of strength
finding rest within her soul.
She finds her family, HER circles of strength,
uniting to battle the monsters within
until there are no more to slay.

ljgloyd (c) 2016

7 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo #12: Night Journey

  1. A beautiful journey! 🙂

  2. Pingback: NaPoWriMo – Day 12 – “Hate, A List Of Things I” by David Ellis | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

  3. oOh, beautiful poem and it definitely describes an important journey. This index poem prompt was certainly challenging!

Leave a Reply

