Miss Pelican's Perch

Looking at my World from a Different Place

Slam, Bam, Thank You Jam

3 Comments

imageI am not the least bit musically inclined. So it’s hard to explain why I had this darbuka drum for so many years.  (Truth be told it had something to do with my brief experimentation with  bellydancing–  but that is the story for another day).

I have been using this drum for the last decade as a decoration in my home and occasionally as a place to park cups of coffee.

A few weeks ago a musician friend of mine invited me to bring the drum to an informal gathering of friends in a garage. My playing with them was a bit tentative since I have never had a real lesson by a proper darbuka instructor, but I muddled my way through with the guitarists, relying on my intuition rather than skill to find the appropriate rhythms for each song.

My playing must have been acceptable because I was asked to bring my drum to a Christmas party last night.  We sang about a dozen Christmas carols where, for most of them, I provided the percussion.

I had a lot of fun– so much so that I am thinking about finding a way to be properly trained to play this drum.

I would never have thought that music would ever be a creative expression for me.

Save

3 thoughts on “Slam, Bam, Thank You Jam

  1. Such a beautiful instrument! I hope you do play it more often.

  2. What a great time you must have had!

Leave a Reply

