Miss Pelican's Perch

Looking at my World from a Different Place

Losing the Fire

4 Comments

duendeToday’s Daily Post prompt says: “Express Yourself!  Do you love to dance, sing, write, sculpt, paint, or debate? What’s your favorite way to express yourself, creatively?

I used to express myself through a variety of media.  I used to paint, I used to bellydance, I used to take a lot of photographs, and now I mostly write.  And even writing I have not done much lately.   So easily derailed from my creative path am I by life circumstances  that I wonder if I really do have the passion for any of it anymore.

When I was involved in past creative pursuits, did I do so simply because I was a narcissist who wanted attention?   And when I didn’t get it, I moved on to another medium?

Maybe each expressive genre has a short shelf-life within my attention span.  It is invigorating to work with a new medium, but then after a while when I reach the extent of my ability with a given medium, I get discouraged and move on.

Maybe I am just not an creative person at heart.  It IS a lot of work to write, paint, take pictures, and especially to dance.  (I am not as young as I used to be).  I used to have a firey passion for the arts when the duende* spirit took over.    Maybe the duende spirit has fled to someone more worthy and it has taken its fire with it.

Maybe I just need a good night’s sleep and the passion will be back.  Perhaps I just need to apologize to the duende.

I’ll let you know what happens when I wake up.

Zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz.

*”Duende or tener duende (“having duende”) loosely means having soul, a heightened state of emotion, expression and authenticity, often connected with flamenco.  The artistic and especially musical term was derived from the duende, a fairy or goblin-like creature in Spanish mythology.” — Wikipedia

Image: “Duende” (manipulated photograph)  by ljgloyd (c) 2006, 2015

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/express-yourself-2/

4 thoughts on “Losing the Fire

  1. You might be interested in reading Elizabeth Gilbert’s new book, Lori. Somewhere in it (I can’t remember exactly) she refers to someone else who talks about pushing past that point where you think you’ve reached the extent of your ability. I do the same thing all the time. I’ll have to go back to my copy and see if I can find who this was.

  2. “I do the same thing all the time” meaning that I get to a point in a passion where I drop off, thinking I’ve maxed out on how far I can go with it.

  3. Nice blog. I like your writing and fullness. You mention duende, which is something tied to my upcoming novel, Child of Duende. I have a blog, michadam.wordpress.com, that is the journey and story of my life behind my novel on duende. You may be interested.

Leave a Reply

