Miss Pelican's Perch

Looking at my World from a Different Place

Tattoo….You? Um….Well….No…..

4 Comments

Today’s Daily Post prompt:
“Tattoo….You?
Do you have a tattoo? If so, what’s the story behind your ink? If you don’t have a tattoo, what might you consider getting emblazoned on you skin?”

*****

I do not have any tattoos. That being said, let me add that it’s not because I have anything against them for others. In fact, I have seen some amazing pieces of fine art engraved on the skin of some equally fine looking people.

There are a few reasons why I don’t have any.

The first two reasons fall into the “nature/nurture” realm. By nurture: I didn’t grow up in a family where anyone had tattoos (and back in the those days, girls did not get them). Compounding this is that I belong to a faith community that discourages tattooing. These two factors alone excluded from me any thought about getting one in my younger days.

By nature: I am a person of aesthetic and artistic whim. An image or work of art that I like today is not necessarily one that I am going to like tomorrow. In fact, I may even come to hate the image if I had to look at it on my body every day. I am reminded of a line in the movie Eat, Pray, Love when the character portrayed by Viola Davis says “Having a baby is like having a tattoo on your face. You kind of want to be committed.” There’s no image to which I would ever be so committed as to have carved into my body.

However, there is one overarching reason that makes me to this day not want to have any tattoos. And it can be stated best in one word:

Gravity.

If you feel compelled to get a tattoo — and ladies, I am specifically talking to you here — you need to consider what it is going to look like in twenty or thirty years. That cute little fairy-sprite you have emblazoned on your chest is going to be a shriveled old hag hanging around your knees in a couple of decades. And that lovely full moon you had so delicately rendered on your derrière? A deflated and wrinkled balloon. NOT the look I would be aiming for.

Like I said, do as you will. Get a beautiful one in a place that going to stay upright for the rest of your life.

As for me, I am going to find other less permanent ways to express myself.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/tattoo-you/

4 thoughts on “Tattoo….You? Um….Well….No…..

  1. *applause* There is a meme floating around the web of a grandmotherly type with “Juicy” scrawled across the top of her buttocks. You can’t read it real well any more and there’s some zinger of a punch line to go with it which I can’t recall. I always think of this when I see those young women who have them (tattoos) in every conceivable area. I wonder what they’ll think of when they’re 60 and regretting (perhaps) their choices. My husband had a large rose on his upper arm from his Army days. His son (my step-son) believes firmly that all areas of ones’ skin should be covered with ‘art’ (some tattoos are ugly..not all are the work of fine artists like the one you showed on your blog). My husband would nag at his boy about the choices…he’d say things like “Trust me. One day you are going to wish you hadn’t done that..” He expressed that he wished he never had because he got so sick of that rose over the years. And it faded and stretched as he aged too. It wasn’t the pretty thing it started out as..

  2. yup, I can’t wait for all the tattoo Gen X and Yer’s become the roadkill of gravity, lol….

  3. Great posting with words of wisdom and advice. I have two female friends who inked tattoos in the eighties and early nineties. What was once a tiny bunny rabbit is now a JACK RABBIT and what once began as the Scorpio astrological sign, looks like a Tarantula. Again great posting with better advice!

  4. I recently met a woman who had a beautiful butterfly tattoo on her hand and I asked about it. She said she gave it to herself for her 70th birthday. That made quite an impression on me as I contemplate getting a small tattoo myself.

Leave a Reply

