Miss Pelican's Perch

Looking at my World from a Different Place

Early Morning Haibun

3 Comments

image

Many people think that sunrise is the most peaceful time of day, perfect for meditation. I look for that slow and reflective time there as well, yet today all I hear are the muted beeps of a neighbor’s unattended clock radio through my wall, the relentless tinkle, tinkle, tinkle of wind chimes from across the street, the raucous arguing of a murder of crows, and the roar of jet engines from a distant tarmac. Who would’ve thought that morning could be so blasted noisy. I guess I’ll write some poetry instead.

Zephyr from the east
Slate and gold rain clouds ride it—
Parched earth opens wide.

ljgloyd (c). 2014

3 thoughts on “Early Morning Haibun

  1. I like this 🙂 Very good 🙂 Finally managed to get to your blog, very nice 🙂

  2. I was thinking this morning when we had quite a symphony going on outside of birds that didn’t quite match up.

Leave a Reply

