Miss Pelican's Perch

Looking at my World from a Different Place

Chasing the Tiger

3 Comments

I am not a royal-watcher.  I am not a royal subject.  Heck, I don’t even like most of the members of that family.  Yet, like millions of people around the world,  I got caught up in the royal baby-watch this week. I have been glued to the news for the last four days.   Thank goodness I can get back to normal now.

Really?

Before I got sucked into waiting for one George to be born, I spent all my free time watching another George be tried for murder.  I spent weeks watching the talking heads parse and over-analyze every word before and after that trial.

And what came before that?  The Cleveland Captives being rescued.  Before that: The Boston bombings.  And in between a load of air crashes and other catastrophes around the world.  If I stay on this trajectory, I know I am going to get caught up in the current news event:  Weiner-gate.

There have been consequences of my news-hound behavior:  too many books started and not completed, unfinished paintings on my studio table, closets to declutter, stories to write, friends and relatives to call and catch up.

Why is this?  Because I am spending too much time chasing the 24/7 news-cycle tiger.   I have come to the conclusion that if I am not already a news junkie, then I am on the verge of becoming one.

So, what do you do to break a habit?  Take it one day at a time, one step at a time.

I resolve that I will not turn on CNN, MSNBC, or Fox News this evening.   What news I get today will come from the five minutes at the top of the hour on one of my local radio channels.  That’s enough news for one person, I should think.

Then tomorrow, I’ll try it again.   And again the next day.   Hopefully, in a few weeks, I can wean myself from the major news networks and hours upon hours of mindless, wasted time.

Anderson, Piers:  I’m going to miss you guys — but it’s for the best.

ljg (c) 2013

3 thoughts on “Chasing the Tiger

  1. I refuse to watch the news. I will read it, on the internet, but only a small amount each day. It’s way too depressing.

  2. Yes, I read it on the internet too, lately I am into processing the issues that seem to have swirling misinformation and trying to tackle it with friends. That way I feel like I am thinking about things, and maybe can do something about the things I can.

Leave a Reply

