Miss Pelican's Perch

Looking at my World from a Different Place

Iamb What Iamb

2 Comments

homegirl cafe angelas green potionI was wrung out and exhausted when I got home from my day job this afternoon.  After a quick supper, I attempted to separate myself from the chaos of the day by cracking open my copy of The Ode Less Travelled, by Stephen Fry.  This book on reading and writing poetry was given to me years ago by a friend who seems to have more confidence in my future as a poet than I did.

Throwing caution to the wind along with whatever sanity I had left, I swore the following oath which is in the book’s Foreward:

“I agree to abide by the terms and conditions of this book”  which are to 1) take my time, 2) not be afraid, and 3) always have a notebook with me.

With that, I began the chapter on meter.  The chapter contained an exercise which required that I write as many lines of iambic pentameter as I could manage in 20 minutes.

I failed and will not inflict the results upon you.

Now I think I am going to read some Keats and Shakespeare to drive it all home before going to bed.

Tomorrow starts another hectic day, but I think a little poetry study in the evening might provide some vitally necessary self-care for my creative soul.

I’ll let you know how that works out for me.

 

2 thoughts on “Iamb What Iamb

  1. If I had a dollar for every time I had promised to get back into the daily practice I would be…. It is still something I want to commit to. Will follow your lead Lori!

  2. Lori, there are days when all we can hope to do is simply be awake to to the promise. I think if we do just that every day, the rest will follow. You know you can write, I know you can write, but sometimes sheer exhaustion just comes between us and our deepest desires. xxx

Leave a Reply

