Miss Pelican's Perch

Looking at my World from a Different Place

Sharing the Love

6 Comments

With great enthusiasm I respond to today’s prompt from the Daily Post:  “Tell us about another blogger who has influenced your own online journey.

Without reservation I say that Heather Blakey through her work at the Soul Food Cafe launched me on the road to daily writing and navigating the realm of the blogosphere.

Prior to 2006 I was plugging away at writing on my own static website.  No one in my world knew diddly-squat about these things called “blogs” and certainly no one was reading my website.    Then one day I fell into Heather’s magic Chocolate Box and started writing.  One turn in her labyrinth led to another and then another and I ended up blogging on a regular basis with a delightful group of women (and a few men).

I have moved on to my own work here at the Perch, but I still keep in contact with many of my SFC buddies.  Many of them are actively engaged in their own writing projects.  I urge you to take a click on the links in my Blogroll on the left and see the handiwork of these wildly creative individuals.

According to the SFC website, the group is now closed, but Heather is currently working at Just Nous and Creative Foraging.  Go there.  Take a look around.  Be inspired by Heather.

I was, and still am.

ljg 2013

6 thoughts on “Sharing the Love

  1. Well said, Lori. Heather has done so much for so many of us!

  2. I’ll second that too. Without Heather I wouldn’t be in blogosphere either

  3. Thank you so much for your affirmation and recognition of the role Soul Food played Lori. I do appreciate it! You have a voice that needs to be heard and I have loved the direction your creative journey has taken you.

  4. I, too, am so appreciative to Heather and her creative blogging which not only taught others (me) how to blog through Wild Gardens, but also led us (me) on to create our own blogs. She and the Soul Food group encouraged and supported us (me) as we utilized writing and imagination, even branching out into areas beyond.

Leave a Reply

