Miss Pelican's Perch

Looking at my World from a Different Place

Cover Up

2 Comments

tolkienI wish folks would stop asking me about my favorite book.  Can a parent pick a favorite child?  (Well, even if parents could pick, they usually won’t say).

But, I will say that I have book covers that I love more than others.   One example is the cover of the Ballantine mass market imprint of The Hobbit and The Lord of the Ring trilogy.  These came out in the 1970’s and depict on the cover watercolors painted by J.R.R. Tolkien himself.

As much as I appreciate the rich art work of other cover artists (Alan Lee comes to mind) and as much as Peter Jackson’s interpretation of Middle Earth fills my mind’s eye, I always come back to these editions of the LOtR saga.  My copies of these paperback editions are crumbling and disintegrating,  and I have replaced them with subsequent editions both in print and on e-book.  But I cannot bring myself to pitch out these editions.

I think the main reason for this is that I believe that these paintings are the closest we are ever going to get to seeing what Middle Earth really looks like — images straight from the creator’s imagination.

So in answer to the question:  do I judge a book by its cover?  I guess I do.

ljg (c) 2013

2 thoughts on “Cover Up

  1. I found myself agreeing with you. I have had several copies of many different books. All with different covers, and I can say that I have treasured ones with covers I liked more so then the copy with a cover that I did not like. So while I try to not judge a book I have never read by its cover, I can honestly say I will judge a cover by the content of the story.

  2. I agree. I love Tolkien’s drawings of Middle Earth, and I have them downloaded on my computer somewhere. Great covers will always make me pick up a book, but they won’t make me keep reading.

Leave a Reply

