Miss Pelican's Perch

Looking at my World from a Different Place

A Little Deja Vu

2 Comments

crystal ballI passed up the last two Daily Post prompts because they did not really resonate with me. Today’s  prompt doesn’t really either but I cannot afford to go too many days without posting or I’ll lose momentum.

So the question of the day: “Have you ever experienced déjà vu?”   Yes, I have — a couple of times as a child.   I don’t recall the circumstances too clearly but I do recall I was just doing ordinary things.   The clearest memory was when I was on an athletic field in junior high and I had this overwhelming feeling that the conversation I was having there with my classmate was one that I had had before.   Quite frankly, I may have.  After all I was in a junior high P.E. class that met every day, on a field that I was on nearly as often, and I can’t imagine that as a junior high age child that my topics of conversation were all that diverse.  It was probably a conversation that I had had before.  So maybe it really wasn’t déjà vu?”  

All I know is that I felt outside myself for a few seconds, looking at this conversation as if I was not a part of it.  It was an odd feeling that I have not experienced as an adult.  If it was not déjà vu then what was it?  Maybe these types of disruptions of consciousness are common to children, but we grow out of them before we have time understand them fully and find a purpose for them in our lives.

If that is the case, then that is a real shame because it was an extraordinary feeling.

ljg (c) 2013.

Image: “Crystal Ball”

2 thoughts on “A Little Deja Vu

  1. Please do start a coincidence book! I have no doubt that you will be in awe of what you start to notice 🙂 As for the Daily Prompts I’m a bit like that too, although I find that when I start writing a bout something I thought I didn’t have much of an opinion on, it turns out that I actually do 🙂

  2. I used to experience deja vu a lot as a kid. But when I came in to my 20s it stopped. I don’t know why, I don’t know what causes it. But I miss it. You’re right–it’s an extraordinary feeling.

Leave a Reply

