Miss Pelican's Perch

Looking at my World from a Different Place

Lunchtime

6 Comments

The Daily Post Photo Challenge of the week is “Time to show us your lunchtime. This might seem like a pretty narrow task, but if you think of “lunchtime” as a theme, there are lots of places you can take it.”

Okay then.  Here’s the photo:

oatmeal

The poor resolution of the photo is a result of taking it on the fly with a poor camera.  However, I think this is in keeping with the theme of today’s lunchtime experience:  my lunch was made on the fly.   I was short on time this morning so all I could manage was tossing a pouch of instant oatmeal and some dried fruit and nuts in a sack.

This exercise has gotten me thinking about why so many of us like to share something as mundane as what we eat with everyone on our social media outlets.  I’ve heard critics moan “Who cares what so-and-so had for dinner?”

I have a theory about this:  there is something fundamental about “breaking bread” and communing with others at the table.  Every culture, every community, every family has food rituals that involve other people.   This is one of the most basic of human activities.   So it stands to reason that this activity should flow over into the virtual world.  We share pictures and comments about what we cooked and what we ate just as we would if we were in our own kitchens with a group of friends or family.

I only wish I had brought something better for lunch today to share with you all.

Have a great weekend, everyone.

ljg (c) 2013

6 thoughts on “Lunchtime

  1. All I had was a PBJ and some tortilla chips, so you at least were healthier than I was! I think you may be right about why we are so likely to share what we eat. We all eat, we all have that in common, even if the details are different. We eat as a social activity – going out to dinner, or a dinner party. Why shouldn’t it be one of things we tend to share on social media?

  2. I knew my psychology degree would come in handy. Your nearly correct in your theory ljg. As humans we have a need to communicate, we have to talk, swap ideas and reach out to touch each other minds. The film Castaways the Tom Hanks film where he had a ball which became Wilson his best friend that he told everything to and helped in his survival. That is why our brain sees faces in wood, brickwork, anything that has a jumble of lines, spots or anything like that. We need community, companionship, face to face or as it has been proven online. I loved your written, loved your meal, I had lemon soul fresh from the sea this morning, slow cooked with black pepper and salad. keep on communicating you do it oh so well ⊙ 😀

  3. The psychology behind social media food shots…love it! It makes sense to me. Every time I post a food shot on Facebook, I get more responses than any other post I make. Now I understand why. Thanks.

  4. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Lunchtime (2) | What's (in) the picture?

Leave a Reply

