Miss Pelican's Perch

Looking at my World from a Different Place

Go Provoke Yourself

3 Comments

underwood typewriterI was driving around a few days ago,  and I saw this huge banner draped over the street.  It simply said “Go Provoke Yourself” and the name of a new art museum that just opened up in my neighborhood.

I know the idea behind this slogan is to provoke in the community an interest in art and aesthetics and to get us to visit the new museum.   However, this slogan did more than get me to go to the museum’s opening day.  It has also caused me to reflect on my own internal landscape to see what is there that might be provoked out of stagnation and into action.

In doing this introspection, I have provoked myself into getting serious, really serious, about writing.  As a result, I have joined a private online group whose members are devoted to writing and making art on a regular, disciplined basis.

No more farting around and pretending.   A writer writes.  A writer writes a lot, every day.   Ray Bradbury said this:  “Quantity produces quality. If you only write a few things, you’re doomed.”

So, if I continue just pretending to be a writer and finding all kinds of reasons not to write — I’m too busy, I’m too tired, I have relationships that suck the creative impulse out of me,  I can’t think of anything to write about, my friends will think I’m weird, blah, blah, blah, — then I am, as Bradbury says, doomed.

The fact is any excuse not to write is just disguising the fact that I have been lazy.   So I have resolved not to be anymore.

Let me ask you this: what is YOUR excuse?  Remember, I’m not buying any of the excuses stated above.  And neither should you.

Now, go provoke yourself.

ljg (c) 2013

3 thoughts on “Go Provoke Yourself

  1. It is indeed time to stop procrastinating and start doing. Well said, Lori.

  2. Fabulous Lori! Goes to show what happens when we give ourselves a big push!

Leave a Reply

