Miss Pelican's Perch

Looking at my World from a Different Place

High Noon

2 Comments

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The Daily Post prompt:  At noon today, take a pause in what you’re doing or thinking about. Make a note of it, and write a post about it later.

Actually, I am starting this post before noon time today because I figure I am not going to be doing anything different at noon than what I am doing three hours earlier.  I am home today with a bad cold.  Nothing like having your holidays ruled by the feeling that your head is filled with concrete.

Of course, if I were well, I would be spending the day at an automotive garage investigating why my car’s transmission is acting up.  Or spending the day caring for relatives who are also sick.   Or shopping for a new computer because this one has taken to booting up only when it wants to.

Being confined at home, I hope I will not watching the news at noon.   Besides the other squirreliness going on the world, all I will hear is news of the impending fiscal cliff we are all about to fall off.

So, in light of all this, I think at noon, I will turn off the tv, open another box of tissue, and ponder all that is good with my life.   I have a job, I have a roof over my head, I have food,  I have electricity, I have fresh running water, and I have people in my life who care enough for me to call and ask how I am faring.

In a few days, I will be well and can get back to taking care of the other pressing details of my life with a little less of a “woe-is-me” attitude.

Maybe this little “time-out” is actually a good thing.   This is my body’s way of telling me to “sit down,  shut up, and listen for a change.”      I have been called to a “show down at High Noon” to do a little reconciling and prioritizing of the things that are important in my life and some that are not so much.

Okay, I think I get it now.  Now, where is my inhaler?

ljg,  writing on Wednesday morning, 12/26/2012

Postscript:  What did I actually do at 12 noon?  I was napping.

2 thoughts on “High Noon

  1. My wish for you is that will be well soon and up to doing whatever you want to do whenever you want to do it.

    Hugs, Vi

  2. That is precisely what I was doing at noon!

Leave a Reply

