Miss Pelican's Perch

Looking at my World from a Different Place

12/12/12

15 Comments

earthI thought I would make this post dedicated to the date 12/12/12 for no other reason than I won’t ever be able to do it again in this life time.   I have even set my WordPress scheduler to post this at 12/12/12 12:12.    Also, I just think the WordPress scheduler is the coolest tool they’ve come up with.

Here’s another thing:  I thought this type of date was called a palindrome — I’ve always wanted to use this word in a post — ; however, a palindrome, according to Wikipedia, is “a word, phrase, number, or other sequence of units that may be read the same way in either direction”.   It is not really a palindrome if you read it number by number.  That would be 21/21/21, right?  But it would still be a palindrome if you read them as full numbers:  Twelve, Twelve,  Twelve.  I guess I’ll go with that because, as I said, I want to use the word “palindrome” and this will be my last chance, EVER, to legitimately do that.

But what I really want to mention today is that while doing my research, to my surprise, I found out that TODAY, 12/12/12, is supposed to be the Mayan end of the world.  I got a whole bunch of google hits on this topic.  Now, I am really confused.  I was counting on the end of the world to be on 12/21/12, the winter solstice.  If the end of the world is supposed to be today and not the 21st, then the History Channel and the Discovery Channel has really gotten this wrong.  I guess I just can’t trust them any more

Okay, so this is my post for 12/12/12.  If any of you in Oz — about 19 time zones ahead of me — are reading this at 11:59 pm on 12/12, please let me know whether or not the world has ended.  I’ve got things to do today.

ljgloyd  (c) 12/12/12 at 12:12 a.m.

15 thoughts on “12/12/12

  1. The world has not ended, at least not here in Arizona. So you can go ahead with your activities for the day. The planet is spinning merrily on its axis despite that some folks are having horrendous weather. But they’re still here to grumble about it. :-/ So, gal, have a happy 12/12/12. That set of numbers won’t come around again for a loooooong time. Let’s see that would be 12/12/2112. right? Guess I won’t be around then.

    Vi

  2. 12/12/12 is just plain cool. I’m looking forward to putting it on all the work I have to send out today! (By the way, I thought the 21 was supposed to be the big day, too.)

  3. Send away, Jane. Milk this date for all it’s worth. I scheduled this same post to go on one of my other blogs at 12/12/12 12:12 PM too.

  4. I shall celebrate 12-12-12 because I like the numbers. I thought I had read at one time that this was the day but then thought maybe I was delusional. Thank you for helping me out there! Love the ending, Lori!

  5. The end of the world is more likely to occur when the scientists in the CERN particle generator in Switzerland do their biggest experiment yet on Dec. 21. If they succeed there is the possibility they will create a black hole that will engulf us all – see you on the flip side then 🙂

    • !!!! They are really going to fire it up on that date? Who knows, maybe California will get hit by a North Korean nuke before then and I won’t have to worry about it. Seriously, we live in a scary, scary world right now.

  6. 12/12/12 was my grandaughter’s second birthday, so ending the world would have been very bad manners. In Australia, it’s the thirteenth now, and all’s well – so far…

  7. Actually… today was a special day for my famly here in AZ., Matt ate somethyinhg approachinhg solid food for the first time in almost 5 days! Granted it was a small Vernors.float. It is made pretty much the same as a Root Beer Float, instead of Root Beer (A&W’s), we use Vernor’s Ginger Ale, a sparkling, dry ginger ale that is an acquired taste. It is the fiirst step towards solid food in our family.

    *heaving a HUGE sigh oif relief.* Hopefully tomorrow he’ll feel well anough to begin radiation again, I wast to see that ugly tunour gone from him!!~

  8. Everytime I sww 11:05 pop up on my digital clock at work I wish myself a Happy Birthday.

Leave a Reply

