Miss Pelican's Perch

Looking at my World from a Different Place

A Gerbil in a Wheel

Leave a comment

gerbilSometimes I feel like a gerbil on an exercise wheel — a galloping, demon-possessed gerbil in need of an exorcist.

I am busy spinning that wheel as I work a full time job in a busy and demanding environment, take care of the needs of some elderly relatives, and do volunteer work for my faith community.

That wretched gerbil and his squeaky wheel are getting on my last nerve.

My harried day-to-day experience makes me want to jump on the next plane to New Orleans and bury my worries into a steaming bowl of jambalaya.   I can’t realistically do something so irresponsible, so I have learned to do something else. As busy as I am, I try to write (or do some other creative form of expression) every day. That seems counter-intuitive to fight over-committment with yet another task.  But I look at it this way:  when I am writing I am doing it on my own terms. I don’t kow-tow to anyone in my writing.  My ideas are my own.  There is no “yes sir, no ma’am”.  I am the boss.

A daily writing practice is my answer to an over-committed lifestyle, and that little gerbil better get out of my way.

ljgloyd (c) 2012

Leave a Reply

