Miss Pelican's Perch

Looking at the World from a Different Place

Map It Out

5 Comments

The Daily Post tossed out this prompt today: “You’ve got three months, an unlimited budget, and a severe case of wanderlust. Where would you go?…Embed a Google Earth map.”

Many years ago, I had the opportunity to spend a few days in Santa Fe, New Mexico. It was spring and I fell in love with the city.  The image that always comes to my mind first is lovely purple wisteria flowers hanging over the pale pink walls of adobe-style houses and the amazing luminosity of the sky.   It is no wonder that artists flock there to work.  There really is something different about the light there.

If I had unlimited funds, I would rent one of those cute little adobe houses along Canyon Road, right in the middle of the art district.   It must have blue doors and window sills to keep out all negative energy.

I would not need to work, so I would be able go walking every morning to explore the history and culture of the city.  I would avail myself of the galleries and museums.  I would take writing, painting and Spanish courses to fill my week days.  And then on the weekends I would explore the towns along the High Road to Taos in the heart of the Sangre de Cristo mountains, where, I have read, that the residents speak a dialect of 16th century Spanish that is spoken no where else.    I would visit ancient pueblos, medieval churches, and Georgia O’Keeffe’s Ghost Ranch.

Yes, if I had the funds, I would take myself on a sabbatical there.  Maybe I’ll even stay more than three months.  Maybe I’ll stay forever.

ljg (c)  2012

5 thoughts on “Map It Out

  1. It sounds utterly beautiful. I’ll take a cyber trip to see that wisteria.

  2. I’ve been through there but was not able to take the time to stop. I agree though that it’s the place to be and I intend to get back there once of these days.

    Vi

  3. Santa Fe – now there’s a place high on my wish list. You make it sound even more enticing than I had imagined. :)

  4. If only….I would see you there!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 164 other followers